24 Hours of Barcelona: 74 teams on the grid

September 4, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

After summer break the action resumes in the 24H Series with this weekend’s 24 Hours of Barcelona at Circuit de Barcelona Catalunya. This event is the fifth and penultimate round of this year’s series. There are 74 teams on the entry list for the race, which is a maximum capacity of the starting grid at famous Grand Prix track.


Winners of the last year’s race were Czech team Scuderia Praha with its Ferrari F458 Italia GT3. Of course, they will be back to defend its win, with international drivers line-up of Jiri Pisarik, Jaromir Jirik, Peter Kox and Matteo Malucelli. Their opposition in the A6 class is strong, with nine more teams of which six will be drive Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3. One of them  is #30 of RAM Racing, leading team in the class championship standings with three second places and one victory in previous four races. Drivers of RAM’s Mercedes will be Tom Onslow-Cole, Thomas Jäger, Paul White and Jeroen Bleekemolen.


Car Collection Motorsport will run two Mercedes, others belong to HP Racing, Hofor Racing and SPS automotive performance. Next to the Ferrari and Mercedes there will be one BMW Z4 GT3 (Walkenhorst Motorsport), one Audi R8 LMS ultra (Drivex) and one Porsche 911 GT3 R (HB Racing Team Herberth).




Eight teams are competing in the 997 class for Porsche Cup cars while the SP2 class has eleven entries, including three Lamborghini Huracán cars, a Dodge Viper Competition Coupé, a Porsche 997 Cup S, a Chevrolet Corvette and the MARC Focus, MARC Mazda 3 and GC Automobile silhouette cars. The SP3 class has its usual variety of GT4 cars with Ginetta, Lotus, Aston Martin and Porsche, plus a Saker GT TDI, a Maserati Gran Turismo and a BMW M3 V8. The A5 touring car class is a BMW-only affair, with M235i Racing Cup, E46 M3, M3 CLS, Z4 M, 135D GTR and 320D WTCC cars.


With 15 cars entered, the A3T class is the biggest in the field and it will be no surprise that Seat customer teams have a strong presence in the home race of the brand. The entry list includes seven Seat Leon Cup Racers and five Seat Leon Supercopa cars. One of the drivers is Spanish motorcycle ace Laia Sanz, 13 times’ women’s trials world champion and a double winner in the female category of the Dakar Rally. The only non-SEATs in class are a Volkswagen Golf and two Peugeot 208 GTis. The A2 class has nine cars, with two Honda Civics, five Renault Clios and two Peugeot RCZs, one of them sporting the famous Michel Vaillant livery. The D1 diesel class consists of two Volkswagen Golf TDIs and one SEAT Leon TDI.




After optional private tests on Thursday and Friday, official track action starts on Friday afternoon with free practice (16.30-17.30) and qualifying (18.00-19.45), followed by night practice (20.45-22.15 hrs). The race starts on Saturday at noon and ends 24 hours later.


There are almost ten hours of live TV coverage on Motors TV while the entire event is streamed live on the series’ website, including commentary by Radiolemans.com.


Photos: 24hseries.com

Related Posts