Chip Ganassi Racing revealed Ford GT drivers for 2016

November 22, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

Chip Ganassi Racing and Ford Performance announced which four drivers will pilot their two all-new Ford GT cars in the 2016 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season. Drivers will be Joey Hand, Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and Dirk Müller. The team will field two cars  with numbers 66 and 67, symbolic of the two years the Ford GT40 conquered Le Mans.


“What I look for in a driver first of all is heart. At this level, all drivers are fast. We want drivers that can work well with others. Drivers that have endurance car experience. Drivers that have been to Le Mans. All these things add up. It’s a team of drivers that act like they’ve been together for quite a while already,” explained Chip Ganassi, owner of Ford Chip Ganassi Racing.


“We can’t say enough about how proud we are to present this group of drivers. This goes straight to the heart of everything we do at Ford, and selecting the right drivers for the Ford GT racing program is just as important as building the car. We believe we have the best car, and now we have the best drivers to match,” added Raj Nair, Ford Group Vice President, Global Product Development and Chief Technical Officer.


Hand and Briscoe already raced for CGR. Hand was regular driver of CGR’s Ford Riley DP in 2015, alongside Scott Pruett. Briscoe competed for CGR in IndyCar races in the previous years. In the 2015 season he participated in eight IndyCar races as a replacement for injured James Hinchcliffe at Schmidt Peterson Motorsports. Westbrook worked as a Chevrolet factory driver for the last five years, winning the FIA GT2 title in 2011. rototypes since 2012, so this will mark his return to GT racing. Müller is the most experienced in this quartet, with over 100 starts in IMSA-sanctioned races over the last 17 years, mostly with BMWs.



Related Posts