DTM follows F1 example

March 28, 2015
Featured, News
Alexander S

DTM decided to follow Formula 1’s example with allowing drivers to choose their racing numbers, starting from 2015 season. In Formula 1 this rule was introduced last year and in DTM drivers were allowed to choose their number in range from 2 to 99. Number one is reserved for reigning champion, just as in Formula 1.


Marco Wittmann, current champion, decided to choose number 11 for the forthcoming seasons, while Augusto Farfus and Nico Muller selected numbers 18 and 51 which they had in their early cartng days.




Former champions Bruno Spengler (7), Mattias Ekstrom (5) and Timo Scheider (10) have selected the numbers with which they won first titles, while Robert Wickens will use number 6 under which he won championship in Formula renault 3.5 in 2011. Mike Rockenfeller, 2013 DTM champion,  had choosen 99 saying number 9 is always good for him and double 9 just could be better.


Full DTM 2015 entry list with numbers:

1   Marco Wittmann  (RMG BMW)

2   Gary Paffett (ART Mercedes)

3   Paul di Resta (HWA Mercedes)

5   Mattias Ekstrom (Abt Audi)

6   Robert Wickens (HWA Mercedes)

7   Bruno Spengler (MTEK BMW)

8   Christian Vietoris (HWA Mercedes)

10  Timo Scheider (Phoenix Audi)

12  Daniel Juncadella (Mucke Mercedes)

13  Antonio Felix da Costa (Schnitzer BMW)

16  Timo Glock (MTEK BMW)

17  Miguel Molina (Abt Audi)

18  Augusto Farfus (RBM BMW)

22  Lucas Auer (ART Mercedes)

27  Adrien Tambay (Abt Audi)

31  Tom Blomqvist (RBM BMW)

36  Maxime Martin (RMG BMW)

44  Jamie Green (Rosberg Audi)

48  Edoardo Mortara (Abt Audi)

51  Nico Muller (Rosberg Audi

77  Martin Tomczyk (Schnitzer BMW)

84  Maximilian Gotz (Mucke Mercedes)

94  Pascal Wehrlein (HWA Mercedes)

99  Mike Rockenfeller (Phoenix Audi)

Related Posts