Kajto is the European Rally Champion for the third consecutive year

October 8, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • Kajetan Kajetanowicz, Rally Liepaja, European Rally Championship
  • Kajetan Kajetanowicz, 2017 European Rally Champion

Kajetan Kajetanowicz is the 2017 European Rally Champion! The Polish rally driver secures his third consecutive ERC title during the Rally Liepaja, which took place in Latvia this weekend. His navigator in the victorious #1 Ford Fiesta R5 was Jaroslaw Baran.

Kajetanowicz entered the last event of the season with a 24-point advantage over Portuguese driver Bruno Magalhaes, who crashed out on Saturday’s stage 6, so Kajto had no pressure to score points. He was in the third place until the SS11 on Sunday, when he parked his Fiesta to a garage.

The winner of the Rally Liepaja is a Russian driver Nikolay Gryazin in the #5 Škoda Fabia R5, ahead of Kalle Rovanpera in the #10 Ford Fiesta R5. For Gryazin, it’s the maiden ERC victory while Rovanpera reached a podium in his first event since he celebrated 18th birthday few days ago. Kalle Rovanpera is a son of the former WRC driver Harri Rovanpera. Polish driver Lukasz Habaj finished third in Latvia in the #8 Ford Fiesta R5.

Photos: Gregory Lenormand/DPPI/fiaerc.com,

Related Posts