WTCC: Lada replacing Jaap van Lagen with Nicolas Lapierre

August 29, 2015
Marijan Malcevic

Renown endurance racer and this year’s 24h Le Mans winner in LMP2 class Nicolas Lapierre will replace Jaap van Lagen in Lada Sport Rosneft WTCC team. Lapierre will make his WTCC debut in Japan at Twin Ring Motegi next month. Lapierre will drive Lada Vesta TC1 also in China, Thailand and Qatar. Rest of the team remains unchanged: Briton Rob Huff and Dutch Nick Catsburg.


31-year old Frenchman Lapierre was a winner in various racing series (Formula 3, A1 GP, GP2 Series) but his biggest success is this year’s victory at famous 24h Le Mans. Lapierre drove Oreca 05 – Nissan LMP2 prototype for KCMG, together with Matthew Howson and Richard Bradley.


He conducted a successful test for Lada at Circuit Paul Ricard in late June where he impressed with his technical feedback and pace behind the wheel. And he’ll be no stranger to Japanese fans, having raced for Toyota in the FIA World Endurance Championship in the past.



Related Posts