2017 ADAC GT Masters season preview

April 28, 2017
Featured, News
Alexander S

Motorsport Arena Oschersleben will host the opening round of the 2017 ADAC GT Masters season where we’ll see 28 cars of seven manufacturers and 17 teams.

Race calendar remained almost the same

There won’t be new cars on the grid in the 11th edition of the series and Audi will be the best-represented manufacturer with 10 R8 LMS cars on the grid. On the other side, we’ll have an opportunity to see many new but not unknown faces. Four new teams are making their debut in the ADAC GT Masters – Audi Sport racing academy, BMW Team Schnitzer, BWT Mucke Motorsport, and Twin Busch Motorsport. The number of races is same like in the previous year, as well as the venues but the schedule is slightly changed.

2017 ADAC GT Masters calendar

Race 1 and Race 229/30 AprilMotorsport Arena Oschersleben
Race 3 and Race 420/21 MayLausitzring
Race 5 and Race 610/11 JuneRed Bull Ring
Race 7 and Race 822/23 JulyCircuit Park Zandvoort
Race 9 and Race 105/6 AugustNurburgring
Race 11 and Race 1216/17 SeptemberSachsenring
Race 13 and Race 1423/24 SeptemberHockenheimring

No fewer than eight former ADAC GT Masters champions are challenging for the title this time. Except the reigning champions, Sebastian Asch, Christopher Haase, Maximilian Gotz, Daniel Keilwitz, Kelvin van der Linde, and Luca Ludwig will try to reach the top spot on the podium once again.

A lot of newcomers

A total of 19 drivers will make their debut in ADAC GT Masters this weekend. Some of them, like Stefan Mucke, Filip Salaquarda or Patrick Huisman, are already experienced racers. On the other side, there will be a lot of talented youngsters like Sven Muller, Mathieu Jaminet, Marvin Kirchhofer, and many other who will try to establish themselves in the highly competitive championship.

2017 ADAC GT Masters

Detail from ADAC GT Masters pre-season test at Oschersleben

The reigning champions will have several challengers

Probably all eyes this weekend will be on title defenders Connor De Phillippi and Christopher Mies. Drivers of Land Motorsport’s Audi R8 LMS had a very good season and although they won only once, their form was at very high level. The American and the German driver had a total of seven podium finishes in 2016 and triumphed after a big battle with Team75 Bernhard’s Porsche and Callaway Competition’s Corvette.

Connor De Phillippi ADAC GT Masters

Christopher Mies and Connor De Phillippi – 2016 ADAC GT Masters champions

Apart from title defenders and Team75 Bernhard’s and Callaway Competition’s cars, the attention should be paid at Herberth Motorsport’s Porsche #99, as well as at Mercedes-AMG GT3s of Team Zakspeed and HTP Motorsport. Not to forget GRT Grasser Racing Team which will field two Lamborghini Huracans with some experienced drivers who are capable of making a surprise or two.

Car #TeamDriver 1Driver 2Car
1Montaplast by Land-MotorsportConnor De PhillippiChristopher MiesAudi R8 LMS
2Montaplast by Land-MotorsportJeffrey SchmidtChristopher HaaseAudi R8 LMS
3Aust MotorsportMarkus PommerKelvin van der LindeAudi R8 LMS
4Aust MotorsportDennis MarschallPatric NiederhauserAudi R8 LMS
6HB Racing WDS BauFlorian SpenglerChristopher ZanellaLamborghini Huracan GT3
7HB Racing WDS BauNorbert SiedlerMarco MapelliLamborghini Huracan GT3
8Audi Sport racing academyMikaela Ahlin-KottulinskyRicardo FellerAudi R8 LMS
9Audi Sport racing academyElia ErhartChristopher HoherAudi R8 LMS
13RWT RacingSven BarthMaximilian HacklanderCorvette C7 GT3-R
17KUS TEAM75 BernhardMathieu JaminetMichael AmmermullerPorsche 911 GT3 R
18KUS TEAM75 BernhardAdrien de LeenerChristopher FriedrichPorsche 911 GT3 R
19GRT Grasser Racing TeamEzeqiuel Perez CompancMirko BortolottiLamborghini Huracan GT3
20Mercedes-AMG Team ZAKSPEEDNikolaj RogivueNicolai SylvestMercedes-AMG GT3
21Mercedes-AMG Team ZAKSPEEDLuca StolzLuca LudwigMercedes-AMG GT3
22MRS GT-RacingRemo LipsPatrick HuismanNissan GT-R NISMO GT3
24BWT Mucke MotorsportFilip SalaquardaMarkus WinkelhockAudi R8 LMS
25BWT Mucke MotorsportMIke-David OrtmannFrank StipplerAudi R8 LMS
26BWT Mucke MotorsportSebastian AschStefan MuckeMercedes-AMG GT3
36Schutz MotorsportAlex MacDowallKlaus BachlerPorsche 911 GT3 R
42BMW Team SchnitzerRicky CollardPhilipp EngBMW M6 GT3
44Twin Busch MotorsportMarc BuschDennis BuschAudi R8 LMS
48Mercedes-AMG Team HTP MotorsportIndy DontjeMarvin KirchhoferMercedes-AMG GT3
50YACO RacingPhilip GeipelRahel FreyAudi R8 LMS
63GRT Grasser Racing TeamRolf IneichenChristian EngelhartLamborghini Huracan GT3
66ADAC NSA/Attempto Racing TeamJonathan JudekEmil LindholmLamborghini Huracan GT3
77Callaway CompetitionJules GounonDaniel KeilwitzCorvette C7 GT3-R
84Mercedes-AMG Team HTP MotorsportPatrick AssenheimerMaximilian GotzMercedes-AMG GT3
99Precote Herberth MotorsportRobert Renauer Sven MullerPorsche 911 GT3 R


Related Posts