2019 European Le Mans Series season preview

  • 2019 European Le Mans Series grid
  • 2019 ELMS season preview
  • 2019 ELMS season preview
  • 2019 ELMS season preview

The 2019 European Le Mans Series season begins this weekend at the Circuit Paul Ricard with the 4 Hours of Le Castellet. Before weekend’s programme, all ELMS teams had a two-day official test at the same track, making final preparations for the 15th season of the major European sports car and prototype endurance championship sanctioned by the ACO (Automobile Club de l’Ouest).

The 2019 season features six events, the same number as in 2018, with one change on a schedule. Alongside Le Castellet, Monza, Silverstone, Spa and Portimao, Barcelona will host one race as a replacement for Red Bull Ring.

2019 ELMS Circuit Paul Ricard

Following a two-day official test, Circuit Paul Ricard will host the first round of the 2019 ELMS season

The ELMS grid in 2019 will have 41 cars divided into three categories – LMP2 (18 cars), LMP3 (14 cars) and LMGTE (9 cars). The cars will be operated by the teams and drivers from twenty-five different nations from all over the globe. The huge international grid will feature the biggest ever LMP2 grid and the largest gathering of LMP2 cars outside of the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The first among equals is the #26 LMP2 Aurus 01 entered by the reigning LMP2 champions, G-Drive Racing. The reigning LMP2 champion Roman Rusinov is returning to defend his title and is joined by LMP3 champion Job Van Uitert and former GP2/F2 driver Norman Nato, who switched to endurance racing last year.

Andrea Pizzitola, another LMP2 co-champion from last year, switches from G-Drive Racing to Algarve Pro Racing to drive the #25 Oreca alongside Americans Mark Patterson and 2017 LMP3 champion John Falb. RLR M Sport, the team that won LMP3 title in 2018, moved up to the LMP2 category with reigning champion John Farano being joined by reigning FIA WEC LMP2 champion Bruno Senna and young driver from India Arjun Maini.

2019 ELMS Aurus G-Drive

G-Drive Racing will try to win another ELMS LMP2 title

Last year’s LMP3 champions RLR MSport will also run an LMP3 Ligier alongside their LMP2 Oreca. Their main rivals in 2018, Inter Europol Competition, are returning with two cars in the LMP3 class. The former champions United Autosports will also field a two-car entry with 2016 champions Christian England and Mike Guasch in the #3 Ligier.

The nine-car LMGTE class will have two brands again, Ferrari and Porsche, with four cars from the Italian manufacturer and five German machines on the grid. Last year’s LMGTE champions Proton Competition are back on the grid with completely new driver line up in the #88 Porsche 911 RSR.

Among nine GT crews, there will be one all-female crew, the first ever on the ELMS grid. Manuela Gostner, Rahel Frey and Michelle Gatting will share the #83 Ferrari 488 GTE of Kessel Racing, preparing at ELMS races for their biggest test in June when they will compete at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Meet Rooky, the new ELMS mascot

Meet Rooky, the new ELMS mascot

2019 European Le Mans Series entry list

LMP2High Class Racing20Oreca 07 (Gibson)Dennis Andersen, Anders Fjordbach
LMP2Dragonspeed21Oreca 07 (Gibson)Henrik Hedman, Ben Hanley, James Allen
LMP2United Autosports22Ligier JS P217 (Gibson)Paul di Resta, Phil Hanson
LMP2Panis Barthez Competition23Ligier JS P217 (Gibson)Rene Binder, Will Stevens, Julien Canal
LMP2Panis Barthez Competition24Ligier JS P217 (Gibson)Timothe Buret, Konstantin Tereshchenko
LMP2Algarve Pro Racing25Oreca 07 (Gibson)Mark Patterson, Andrea Pizzitola, JohnFalb
LMP2Aurus G-Drive Racing26Aurus 01 (Gibson)Roman Rusinov, Job van Uitert, Norman Nato
LMP2IDEC Sport27Ligier JS P217 (Gibson)Patrice Lafargue, Erik Maris, Stephane Adler
LMP2IDEC Sport28Oreca 07 (Gibson)Paul Lafargue, Paul Loup Chatin, Memo Rojas
LMP2Duqueine Engineering30Oreca 07 (Gibson)Nico Jamin, Pierre Ragues, Richard Bradley
LMP2Algarve Pro Racing31Oreca 07 (Gibson)Henning Enqvist, Tacksung Kim, James French
LMP2United Autosports32Ligier JS P217 (Gibson)Ryan Cullen, Alex Brundle
LMP2Inter Europol Competition34Ligier JS P217 (Gibson)Jakub Smiechowski, Leo Roussel, Dani Clos
LMP2BHK Motorsport35Oreca 07 (Gibson)Francesco Dracone, Sergio Campana
LMP2Cool Racing 37Oreca 07 (Gibson)Nicolas Lapierre, Antonin Borga, Alexandre Coigny
LMP2Graff39Oreca 07 (Gibson)Tristan Gommendy, Alexandre Cougnaud, Jonathan Hirschi
LMP2RLR M Sport43Oreca 07 (Gibson)John Farano, Bruno Senna, Arjun Maini
LMP2Carlin45Dallara P217 (Gibson)Jack Manchester, Olivier Pla, Ben Barnicoat
LMP3United Autosports2Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Wayne Boyd, Garett Grist, Tommy Erdos
LMP3United Autosports3Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Mike Guasch, Christian England
LMP3360 Racing5Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)John Corbett, Andreas Laskaratos, James Winslow
LMP3360 Racing6Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Terrence Woodward, James Dayson, Ross Kaiser
LMP3Nielsen Racing7Norma M30 (Nissan)Anthony Wells, Colin Noble
LMP3Nielsen Racing8Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Nobuya Yamanaka, James Littlejohn
LMP3Realteam Racing9Norma M30 (Nissan)Esteban Garcia, David Droux
LMP3Oregon Team10Norma M30 (Nissan)Damiano Fioravanti, Gustas Grinbergas, Lorenzo Bontempelli
LMP3Eurointernational11Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Mikkel Jensen, Jens Petersen
LMP3Inter Europol Competition13Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Martin Hippe, Nigel Moore
LMP3Inter Europol Competition14Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Paul Scheuschner
LMP3RLR M Sport15Ligier JS P3 (Nissan)Martin Vedel Mortens, Christian Stubbe Olsen, Martin Rich
LMP3Ultimate17Norma M30 (Nissan)Jean-Baptiste Lahaye, Matthieu Lahaye, Francois Heriau
LMP3M Racing19Norma M30 (Nissan)Laurent Millara, Lucas Legeret, Yann Ehrlacher
LMGTELuzich Racing51Ferrari 488 GTEAlessandro Pier Guidi, Nicklas Nielsen, Fabien Lavergne
LMGTESpirit of Race55Ferrari 488 GTEDuncan Cameron, Matt Griffin, Aaron Scott
LMGTETeam Project 156Porsche 911 RSREgidio Perfetti, Giorgio Roda
LMGTEKessel Racing60Ferrari 488 GTEClaudio Schiavoni, Sergio Pianezzola, Andrea Piccini
LMGTEJMW Motorsport66Ferrari 488 GTEJeff Segal, Matteo Cresoni, Wei Lu
LMGTEDempsey-Proton Racing77Porsche 911 RSRChristian Ried, Riccardo Pera, Matteo Cairoli
LMGTEEbimotors80Porsche 911 RSRFabio Babini, Marco Frezza, Sebastien Fortuna
LMGTEKessel Racing83Ferrari 488 GTEManuela Gostner, Rahel Frey, Michelle Gatting
LMGTEProton Competition88Porsche 911 RSRHorst Felbemayr Jr, Marco Seefried, Thomas Preining

Photos: Mike Hoyer/JEP, Jakob Ebrey Photography/ELMS,

Related Posts