Career Summary:

Bill McGovern

  • January 02, 1937
  • 85
  • United Kingdom
  • Not Active
  • 51
  • 32
  • 35
  • 62.75%
  • 68.63%

Bill McGovern is a former racing driver from Ireland who won three British Saloon Car Championship titles in 1970, 1971 and 1972, driving a Hillman Imp prepared by George Bevan.

McGovern was the first driver in a BTCC history to take three championship titles, later he was followed by six more drivers (Frank GardnerBernard Unett, Win Percy, Andy Rouse, Matt Neal, Gordon Shedden).

Bill McGovern

Bill McGovern

Starting a BSCC career in an Austin Mini Cooper S

Born in January 1937 in Sligo, Ireland, Bill McGovern made a first significant appearance in the British Saloon Championship in 1965, putting on a roof the #61 Flintsone Racing Austin Mini Coopeer S in the season-opening race at Brands Hatch.

He returned in 1966 in Paul Emery's Hillman Imp, not finishing three races and scoring his maiden BSCC podium at Chrystal Palace race, finishing second in the Class A. In 1967, McGovern recorded two DNFs in Paul Emery's Hillman Imp.

Bill McGovern in George Bevan's Hillman Imp

Bill McGovern in George Bevan's Hillman Imp

Eight wins for the first championship title in 1970

McGovern returned to the championship in the last round of 1969 season, driving the #47 Hillman Imp, prepared by George Bevan, at Brands Hatch. He didn't finish the race.

And then, in 1970, McGovern scored eight wins in a Hillman Imp, winning the Class A and overall championship, ahead of Frank Gardner and Brian Muir.

Ten wins for the second championship title

In 1971, Bill McGovern was even more dominant in Class A, scoring ten wins in twelve rounds to take his second championship title in a Hillman Imp.

In 1971, McGovern also participated in one race of the World Sportscar Championship, driving the #63 Dulon LD11P-Porsche for Speed Sport Motorbooks at Brands Hatch.

Bill McGovern in a Hillman Imp in 1972

Bill McGovern in a Hillman Imp in 1972

Ten out of ten for the third championship title

In 1972, McGovern proved that he could even better in the BSCC, winning all ten races in a Hillman/Sunbeam Imp. He took the championship title ahead of Dave Matthews and Frank Gardner.

McGovern continued to race with Sunbeam Imp in 1973, scoring four class wins to finish seventh in the final championship standings. He was badly hurt in the third race of the season at Thruxton but he recovered for the next round.

Photos: Tony Todd,,