DTM announced restructured calendar, retaining all 10 events

March 26, 2020
Marijan Malcevic

The DTM umbrella organisation ITR has restructured the 2020 DTM calendar to accommodate all 10 rounds of this year’s series in the wake of the global spread of the coronavirus.

Initially, the plan for the 2020 DTM season was to start at Belgium’s Circuit Zolder on April 24-26. Now, the new opening round will take place at Norisring on July 10-12. The season will be concluded at Monza on November 13-15.

There is still a question where the second round will be held, with Russia’s Igora Drive and Sweden’s Anderstorp as candidates. When a decision would be made, another of those two circuits will host the round 7.

2020 dtm calendar

Revised 2020 DTM calendar

ITR Managing Director Marcel Mohaupt said: “These are unprecedented and uncertain times – and our priority is the wellbeing of our families, our staff, and our community. Despite the uncertainty, we felt it was important to provide motorsport fans worldwide – and everyone involved in DTM – with a revised calendar featuring new dates.

Clearly, the safe containment and treatment of this epidemic is everyone’s first priority, but we believe that sport can play an important role in helping restore normality to people’s lives. With support from our fans, DTM’s manufacturers Audi and BMW – who will bring 16 cars to this year’s grid – the racetracks and all our partners, we all want to put together an exciting season later this year.

We know we have to remain flexible and pragmatic – but this is a first step; and we will hold true on our promise to come back stronger. When it is safe to return to the racetrack, we want the DTM to help lead the way.”

Related Posts