GRC Las Vegas Finale: Speed and Foust fighting for title

November 3, 2015
Marijan Malcevic

Not only weekends are reserved for racing competitions, as Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship will have a great finale tomorrow (Wednesday, November 4th) in Las Vegas. The best was saved for the last and in Las Vegas we will have the largest entry list so far in 2015 season, including 14 Supercars and 14 GRC Lites cars.

The new track was constructed at the Village Lot on the Strip, where Ken Block was victorious in the previous two years. He won in 2013 and 2014, but titles went to Toomas Heikkinen and Joni Wiman. Tomorrow, Ken Block will chase his third Vegas victory, but championship trophy is reserved for Scott Speed or Tanner Foust. Volkswagen Andretti’s drivers scored five victories this year. Foust won three times, but Speed has 36-point advantage ahead season’s finale.


In Supercars category, four manufacturers will be represented in Vegas. Bucky Lasek and David Higgins will rejoin Sverre Isachsen for a three-car entry at Subaru Rally Team USA, the third time this season (after Austin and Los Angeles). Pat Moro will also return to action in the PMR Motorsports Chevrolet Sonic for the first time since Washington DC. Speed and Foust are only two entries with Volkswagen Beetles, while Ford will be represented with eight drivers – Steve Arpin, Nelson Piquet Jr., Austin Dyne, Patrik Sandell, Joni Wiman, Brian Deegan, Ken Block and Sebastian Eriksson.

GRC Lites category boasts four brand new entries for the last race of the year, including three additional cars from Olsbergs MSE. Sandra Hultgren and Andreas Wernersson will come over from Europe for their first Lites races on American soil, while Gustavo Menezes will make his first-ever start in a Lites vehicle. Buhl Sport Detroit, a new team owned by former IndyCar race winner Robbie Buhl, will also make its debut with driver Augie Lerch behind the wheel. Title fight between Austin Cindric, Oliver Eriksson and Mile Maroney is still open.


Related Posts