Renault Sport Trophy: The Swedish-Estonian combination victorious at Imola

  • Renault Sport Trophy, Endurance Race,Imola

Fredrik Blomstedt and Kevin Korjus have won the Renault Sport Trophy Endurance race at the Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola. The Swedish-Estonian pair in the #3 Renault R.S.01 of R-ace GP team takes the win in the 70-minute race which they started from pole position.

The #4 car of Oregon Team finished second, driven by Andres Mendez and Bruno Bonifacio. Fabian Schiller and Markus Palttala reached their second podium in the second round of the Renault Sport Trophy in the #9 car of the Team Marc VDS EG 0,0.

Renault Sport Trophy, Imola

Kevin Korjus and Fredrik Blomstedt

Schiller again the best among AM class drivers

Victory at Imola promoted Blomstedt and Korjus to the first place of the Endurance general classification after two rounds. Blomstedt started the race ahead of  Schiller and Toni Forne (#2 R-ace GP) but he went wide in one turn and lost the lead. Schiller and Forne passed by Blomstedt, who later re-took the second place but didn’t manage to pass Schiller. Schiller remained in the lead until the driver change, so he earned the maximum of 25 points to stayed in the lead of the AM classification.

When the pit window was opened, Fabian Schiller handed the car to Markus Palttala. The experienced Finn lost the lead on Lap 24 when Kevin Korjus re-took the leading position for R-ace GP. Bruno Bonifacio followed him and Palttala dropped to P3. Despite a 15-second penalty for not respecting the minimum pit stop time, Raoul Owens assured the fourth place for #2 R-ace GP crew.

Renault Sport Trophy, Imola

Fabian Schiller was the leader in the first part of the race

Check the complete Renault Sport Trophy results and standings


Photos: Renault Sport

Related Posts