ADAC GT Masters: First win of the season for GRT Grasser Racing Team

  • GRT Grasser Racing Lamborghini 2017 ADAC GT MastersLausitzring

GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini #19 won the ADAC GT Masters Race 2 at Lausitzring what is the first win of the season for the Knittelfeld-based team.

GRT Grasser Racing Team’s Lamborghinis occupied the front row at the start of the Sunday’s race. The #19 car of Mirko Bortolotti and Ezequiel Perez Companc started from pole position while the #63 car of Christian Engelhart and Rolf Ineichen started from P2. Mucke Motorsport’s BMW #24 and Land Motorsport’s #1 Audi started from the second row.

Philipp Eng behind the wheel of #42 BMW moved up to the 2nd position after starting from P7 while #62 Lamborghini dropped to the 4th position. At the same time, Herberth Motorsport’s #99 Porsche which won the Saturday’s race, retired from the race after Sven Muller had a spun. The #24 BMW of Markus Winkelhock also retired early.

Land Motorsport Audi 2017 ADAC GT Masters

Reigning champions Christopher Mies and Connor De Phillippi finished 2nd in the Race 2 at Lausitzring

After the mandatory pit stop and driver change almost nothing has changed at the top of the grid. The #19 Lamborghini had a strong lead to #42 BMW and title defending #1 Audi. With 18 minutes to go, cars #42 and #1 switched positions but the lead of GRT’s Lambo never was in doubt.

With 10 minutes to go, it looked like the top 3 standings won’t change but soon after Ricky Collard in #42 car made a mistake and lost the 3rd place to #63 Lamborghini of Rolf Ineichen. At the end, GRT Grasser Racing Lamborghini #19 won the race with a margin of 1.5s to the reigning champions Connor De Phillippi and Christopher Mies while the car #63 completed the podium. Callaway Competition Corvette #77 finished 4th after overtaking #42 BMW on the final lap.

Click here for the full results

The next round of ADAC GT Masters will go on June 10-11 at Red Bull Ring.


Related Posts