The stage is set for the 25th British GT season

April 14, 2017
Featured, News
Alexander S

  • 2017 British GT

The 2017 British GT season starts on Easter Monday at Oulton Park, the circuit that hosted more of the series’ season openers than any other.

No big changes on the calendar

The popular championship had a relatively tough season of 2016. A big step forward was made at the organizational level but on the competitive level it looks like was made a small step backward. That’s why we expect to see more competitiveness at a higher level during the series’ 25th campaign, as well as many new rising talents.

TF Sport Aston Martin

TF Sport’s Aston martin Vantage at Oulton Park

Seven racing weekends and a total of nine races will be held over the year what is the same number like in the previous year. The schedule is slightly changed after Oulton Park was named to be the host of the season-opening race while Donington Park will host the last round of the campaign late in September.

2017 British GT calendar

Rd. 1 & Rd. 2April 15 - 17Oulton Park2 x 1 hour races
Rd. 3April 29 - 30Rockingham1 x 2 hour race
Rd. 4 & Rd. 5May 27 - 28Snetterton2 x 1 hour races
Rd. 6June 10 - 11Silverstone1 x 3 hour race
Rd. 7July 7 - 8Spa-Francorchamps1 x 2 hour race
Rd. 8August 5-6Brands Hatch1 x 2 hour race
Rd. 9September 23 - 24Donington Park1 x 2 hour race

32 cars of 11 manufacturers

A total of 32 cars and crews, 12 in GT3 and 20 in GT4 class, will take a part in the season-opening race. In 2017 British GT we’ll see the cars of 11 manufacturers, including defending champions Aston Martin and Ginetta, as well as many Lamborghini. Mercedes, Bentley, McLaren, etc. After many years, BMW and Lotus won’t be represented in the British GT championship.

2017 British GT Snetterton

Pre-season test at Snetterton

Aston Martin Vantage is still the most ‘popular’ car in the GT3 class while in the GT4 class Ginetta G55 got a worthy rival in McLaren 570s GT4.

Reigning champions will defend their titles in both classes

Jonathan Adam and Derek Johnston will defend their crown in the GT3 class driving the TF Sport’s Aston Martin Vantage. It is assumed that their biggest rivals supposed to be two Barwell Motorsport’s Lamborghinis and Team Parker Racing’s Bentley #31 of Rick Parfitt and Seb Morris. AmDtuning’s Mercedes of Lee Mowle and Ryan Ratcliffe also shouldn’t be written off. Also not to forget Spirit of Race’s Ferrari prepared by FF Corse with the pair of experienced drivers.

Derek Johnston Jonathan Adam

Derek Johnston and Jonny Adam, TF Sport

In the GT4 class, Optimum Motorsport’s pair Mike Robinson and Graham Johnson again will be in the seat of Ginetta G55. Last year they relatively easily won the title and rightfully could be considered as the favorites. It will be interesting to see what Garage 59 is capable of. The team triumphed in Blancpain GT Series last year and with McLaren 570S they are surely potent enough to fight for the title.

2017 British GT entry list

Car #TeamDriver 1Driver 2CarClass
1TF SportDerek JohnstonJonny AdamAston Martin vantage GT3GT3
6Barwell MotorsportLiam GriffinSam TordoffLamborghini Huracan GT3GT3
7Team Parker RacingIan LoggieCallum MacleodBentley Continental GT3GT3
11TF SportMark FarmerJon BarnesAston Martin Vantage GT3GT3
19Century MotorsportParker Chase Charlie RobertsonGinetta G55 GT3GT3
21Spirit of RaceDuncan CameronMatt GriffinFerrari 488 GT3GT3
24Macmillan AMRJack MitchellJames LittlejohnAston martin Vantage GT3GT3
30AmDtuning.comLee MowleRyan RatcliffeMercedes-AMG GT3GT3
31 Team Parker RacingRick Parfitt Seb MorrisBentley Continental GT3GT3
33Barwell MotorsportJon MInshaw Phil KeenLamborghini Huracan GT3GT3
69Century MotorsportHarry Gottsacker Nathan FrekeGinetta G55 GT3GT3
88Team ABBA with Rollcentre RacingRichard Neary Martin ShortMercedes-AMGGT3
14In2RacingRichard Marsh Gareth HowellMcLaren 570S GT4GT4
29In2RacingMarcus HoggarthMatthew GrahamMcLaren 570S GT4GT4
36Autoaid/RCIB Insurance RacingMike NewbouldMichael CaineGinetta G55 GT4GT4
42Macmillan AMRWilliam PhillipsJan JonckAston Martin Vantage GT4GT4
43Century MotorsportSteve Fresle Jacob MathiassenGinetta G55 GT4GT4
51Lanan RacingAlex Reed David PittardGinetta G55 GT4GT4
53UltraTek Racing / Team RJNRichard Taffinder Martin Plowman Nissan 370Z GT4GT4
54UltraTek Racing / Team RJNTim EakinKelvin FletcherNissan 370Z GT4GT4
55HHC MotorsportStuart Middleton William TregurthaGinetta G55 GT4GT4
56Tolman MotorsportDavid PattisonJoe OsborneMcLaren 570S GT4 GT4
59Black Bull Garage 59Akhil RabindraDean MacdonaldMcLaren 570S GT4GT4
60Ebor GT MotorsportMatty GrahamJames KellettMaserati GT MC GT4GT4
62Academy MotorsportMatt Nicoll-Jones Will MooreAston Martin Vantage GT4GT4
63Autoaid/RCIB Insurance RacingMatt ChapmanSam WebsterGinetta G55 GT4GT4
66Team Parker RacingNick JonesScott MalvernPorsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport MRGT4
72track-clubAdam BalonAdam MackeyMcLaren 570S GT4GT4
100Black Bull Garage 59Sandy MitchellCiaran HaggertyMcLaren 570S GT4GT4
111Century MotorsportAnna WalewskaMike SimpsonGinetta G55 GT4GT4
501PMW Expo Racing / Optimum MotorsportGraham JohnsonMike RobinsonGinetta G55 GT4GT4

Related Posts