2017 DTM entry list preview

February 2, 2017
Featured, News
Alexander S

  • DTM

The new DTM season will start on the first weekend in May at Hockenheim and three months before kick-off full entry list has been confirmed.

Three manufacturers – Audi, BMW, and Mercedes – will field a total of 18 cars, 6 by each manufacturer, what is probably the biggest change in the series. A total number of cars on the grid is reduced from 24 what should result with even more exciting races.

There will be only one rookie driver – Loic Duval. The winner of 2013 Le Mans 24 Hours and WEC champion joined Audi, while the Ingolstadters decided not to retain services of Miguel Molina and Adrien Tambay. Former champion Timo Scheider decided to leave the series.

2017 DTM

The new DTM season should be even more thrilling

After the departure of former champion Martin Tomczyk and Antonio Felix da Costa, BMW decided to keep rest of the line-up from the previous year in which Marco Wittmann won the title for the second time in his career.

Mercedes was the last who announced names of the drivers for 2017 DTM. The Stuttgarters brought vice-champion Edoardo Mortara from Audi, while Maro Engel returned to the series after six years. Daniel Juncadella, Christian Vietoris, and Maximilian Gotz lost their places in DTM.

2017 DTM entry list

ManufacturerCar No.DriverCountry
BMW1Marco WittmannGermany
7Bruno SpenglerCanada
16Timo GlockGermany
18 Augusto FarfusBrazil
31Tom BlomqvistUnited Kingdom
36Maxime MartinBelgium
Mercedes-Benz2Gary PaffettUnited Kingdom
3Paul Di RestaUnited Kingdom
6Robert WickensCanada
22Lucas AuerAustria
48Edoardo MortaraItaly
63Maro EngelGermany
Audi5Mattias EkstromSweden
51Nico MullerSwitzerland
53Jamie GreenUnited Kingdom
72Rene RastGermany
77Loic DuvalFrance
99Mike RockenfellerGermany

Photo: dtm.com

Related Posts