Super Formula: Lotterer and Sekiguchi winners at Okayama

  • Super Formula Okayama, race 1, Lotterer, Sekiguchi
  • Super Formula Okayama Andre Lotterer
  • Super Formula Okayama Yuhi Sekiguchi
  • Super Formula at Okayama, race 2, Yuhi Sekiguchi

The second round of the 2017 Japanese Super Formula Championship took place at Okayama International Circuit. The winners of two races are Toyota drivers Andre Lotterer (Vantelin Team Tom’s) and Yuhi Sekiguchi (Itochu Enex Team Impul).

Lotterer scored his 24th Super Formula victory in Saturday’s 30-lap Sprint race, Sekiguchi triumphed in Sunday’s 51-lap Main race. For Sekiguchi, it’s his third Super Formula win in a career.

Super Formula Race 1 podium at Okayama International Circuit

Race 1 podium at Okayama International Circuit

In the first race, Sekiguchi started from pole but lost a lead from Lotterer. Their position remained unchagned until the end of 30-lap race. Lotterer crossed the finish line with 1.948sec advantage.

The rookie from New Zealand Nick Cassidy (Kondo Racing Toyota) grabbed his maiden SF podium, after starting from third place on the grid. Kamui Kobayashi (KCMG Toyota) finished fourth, ahead the best Honda driver Naoki Yamamoto (Team Mugen).

Yuhi Sekiguchi and Team Director Kazuyoshi Hoshino, Okayama

Yuhi Sekiguchi and Team Director Kazuyoshi Hoshino

For the second race, Hiroaki Ishiura (P.Mu Cerumo Inging) secured the best starting position, beating rookie Kenta Yamashita (Kondo Racing) in the qualifying. Sekiguchi started from P3 and after 51 laps he cliched his third win in a career, 0.408 seconds ahead of Ishiura.

Andre Lotterer finished on a podium one more time, taking third place but also the leading position in the championship after two rounds. The next stop is Fuji Speedway on July 8-9.

Check the full results of Super Formula races

Photos: Toyota Gazoo Racing,

Related Posts