Historic win for Flick Haigh in the British GT season-opener

  • British GT Oulton Park podium race 1
  • Flick Haigh, race 1 winner at Oulton Park, British GT Championship
  • British GT Championship, Oulton Park race 1

Flick Haigh earned a place in the historic book of the British motorsport today. She became the first woman to win a British GT Championship race outright in the 26-year-long history of the championship. Flick Haigh has won the season-opener at Oulton Park, together with Jonny Adam in the #75 Optimum Motorsport Aston Martin V12 Vantage GT3.

Flick Haigh started from pole under the heavy rain and perfectly drove during his stint, handing over a car to Jonny Adam as a race leader. At the end of the one-hour race, Jonny Adam scored his 13th British GT victory with 28.2sec advantage over Beechdean AMR’s #99 Aston Martin, driven by Andrew Howard and Darren Turner. ERC Sport’s Lee Mowle and Yelmer Buurman finished third in the #116 Mercedes-AMG GT3.

Flick Haigh and Jonny Adam on a podium

Flick Haigh and Jonny Adam on a podium

“It feels amazing! I’m shocked, to be honest. When Jonny got in he had a real fight on his hands – I was fortunate enough to get a lead early on so he had the hard job, really! The conditions were tough: it’s a balancing act to push hard enough but without making any mistakes,” said Flick Haigh.

In GT4 class, Adam Balon and Ben Barnicoat repeated Track-Club’s victory from twelve months ago in the #72 McLaren 570S GT4. Ben Tuck and Ben Green initially finished second in the #42 Century Motorsport BMW M4 GT4 but 30sec post-race penalty demoted them to the seventh place. Tolman Motorsport’s Michael O’Brien and Charlie Fagg, and Century Motorsport’s Jack Mitchell and Ricky Collard, completed the GT4 podium.

The weather conditions worsened during the second race which was stopped and red-flagged after four laps.

Check the full results of the British GT races at Oulton Park

The second round of the 2018 British GT Championship, with one 2-hour race, is scheduled for April 28-29 at Rockingham Motor Speedway.

Photos: Jakob Ebrey Photography/britishgt.com,