ADAC F4 Championship: Season closed with Mawson's victory

Maiden ADAC F4 Championship season was closed today at Hockenheimring. The winner of the third race of the weekend was Australian Joey Mawson (Van Amersfoort Racing) ahead of David Beckmann (Mücke Motorsport) and Joel Eriksson (Motopark). Championship titles in both overall and rookie classification were secured yesterday by Marvin Dienst (HTP Junior Team) and David Beckmann, so today’s race was decisive only for other positions.


Mawson’s fifth victory of the season wasn’t enough for the second place in the championship standings because his main rival Joel Eriksson took third place in the race and collected two points more than Mawson. The situation was different only few a laps before the end, when Eriksson was sixth, but he was helped by Tim Zimmerman (Neuhauser Racing). Zimmerman was third and attacked Michael Waldherr (Motopark), but misjudged the braking point and both got off the track. Eriksson slipped into third and remained there, because the Safety Car came out and the race was finished without restarting.




It was the third Safety Car period in the last ADAC F4 race. In the opening lap, new champion Marvin Dienst had a spin and stopped besides the track. Few seconds later, Job van Uitert also spun and crash was unavoidable. Second SC interruption followed after Giorgio Maggi got off the track and into the wall in Lap 6.


David Beckmann secured the Rookie title with yesterday’s win and today he only confirmed that he was the best one among the youngsters who have just started with car racing. Mike Ortmann (Mücke Motorsport) finished second in the rookie classification, ahead of Mick Schumacher (Van Amersfoort Racing). Young Schumi had a great race today: he started from 27th and finished 7th.


Check all the results at SnapLap result pages.

Related Posts