DTM: Green won the final race of the season

  • Jamie Green DTM Hockenheim

Jamie Green is the winner of the last race of the 2015 DTM season. Audi was completely dominant at Hockenheim as their drivers took all places at the podium – Mattias Ekstrom was second and Edoardo Mortara third. This was the fourth victory this season for the British driver and 12th in his career. Interestingly, Green was the winner of the opening race of the season, also at Hockenheim.


After retiring from last two races, Gary Paffett in Mercedes was on pole for the last race of the season. Three Audis, with Jamie Green, Mattias Ekstrom and Miguel Molina, were behind him, motivated to bring Manufacturers’ title to Ingolstadters, but Ekstrom and Green were also fighting for second place in Drivers’ championship, together with Edoardo Mortara who started from 13th position. New champion Pascal Wehrlein started from 17th position as he was completely relaxed on his 21st birthday.


DTM Hockenheim


Maxime Martin in BMW had a good start as he jumped from fifth to third, while in lap four Green became the leader when he overtook his compatriot Paffett. In the same lap, Ekstrom moved up to third overtaking Martin, while in the next lap Swede was already the second. So, we had a direct battle for the second place in the championship between Green and Ekstrom.


When pit window opened, five Audis were in top seven and almost nothing changed after mandatory pit-stops except that Christian Vietoris and Adrien Tambay were out of the race after an accident which Miguel Molina caused. Green was on top with 25 minutes to go, Ekstrom was 2.9s behind, Paul Di Resta was third followed by Timo Scheider and Mortara.


DTM Hockenheim


But, Mortara was the one who was flying around the track. The Italian moved up to third adding more spice to the battle for championship runner-up. But, Green managed to keep the first place and secured championship runner-up place, leaving Ekstrom third and Mortara fourth in the championship standings.


BMW won Manufacturer’s championship title with 602 points, just seven more than Audi, while Mercedes HWA AG wins Teams’ championship ahead of Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!


Photo: dtm.com

Related Posts