F3 Euro: Rosenqvist, Jensen and Dennis pole-sitters at Spa

Three different drivers will start from pole-positions in three races of Formula 3 European Championship this weekend at Spa. Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam) was fastest in Q1 and will start first in Race 1 tommorow morning, while Mikkel Jensen (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport) was fastest in second qualifying session and will start from pole in Race 2 on Saturday afternoon. Jake Dennis (Prema Powerteam) gained pole-position for Race 3 on Sunday.


Swedish driver Felix Rosenqvist, who is third in championship standings after nine races, set the fastest time of all sessions, with lap time around 7-km Spa circuit of 2.10.173 minutes. Briton Jake Dennis secured first row start in Race 1, with championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and Piettro Fittipaldi (Fortec Motorsports) behind him in second row.


FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 5, Spa-Francorchamps (BEL)


Dane Mikkel Jensen claimed a surprise pole position in second qualifying session. Jensen, the reigning ADAC Formel Masters champion, jumped into P1 just moments before the session was red-flagged for a second time, and with less than a minute remaining it was not restarted.


Jensen will be joined in the first row by Prema Powerteam’s Brandon Maisano. Second row and positions P3 and P4 were occupied by two more Prema’s drivers – Lance Stroll and Felix Rosenqvist. On the third row for Race 2 will be Scot Sam MacLeod (Motopark) and Pietro Fittipaldi. Jake Dennis ended up seventh.


FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 5, Spa-Francorchamps (BEL)


Second best time of every driver form the grid for Race 3 and Jake Dennis had a best lap. Jensen and Maisano are second and third, with Markus Pommer (Motopark) taking fourth for race three. Once again MacLeod and Fittipaldi share the third row, with Rosenqvist and Stroll behind them in the fourth row.


It was a bad qualifying session for championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi (12th and 18th) and second placed Charles Leclerc (two times 13th place).
The first red flag was caused after seven minutes by Alexander Albon crashing at Stavelot, while the second was caused by a shunt for Callum Ilott.

Related Posts