F3 European Championship: Jake Dennis first winner at Algarve

Jake Dennis (Prema Powerteam) is the first winner of the first-ever FIA Formula 3 European Championship event at the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve near Portimao. At the 4.684-km long track, Dennis started from pole and managed to get his sixth victory of the season. Behind the Brit Alexander Albon (Signature) and Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam) crossed the finish line in second and third place respectively.

In the championship standings, Jake Dennis is still fourth. Rosenqvist reduced the gap between him and the championship points leader Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) to 7.5 points, as the Italian only managed to finish ninth. Charles Leclerc (Van Amersfoort Racing), who finished sixth behind Lance Stroll (Prema Powerteam) and Markus Pommer (Motopark), also got closer to the overall points’ leader Giovinazzi.

While Jake Dennis made the best use of his pole position, Nick Cassidy (Prema Powerteam), who was second on the grid, stalled the engine and lost many positions. Just before the end of the race Cassidy retired following a collision with Callum Ilott (Carlin).

From fifth place on the grid, Alexander Albon benefited from Cassidy’s problems at the start and already moved up into second place ahead of Lance Stroll on the opening lap. Felix Rosenqvist overtook Stroll one lap later and those positions remained unchanged till the end of the race.




Check all the results at SnapLap result pages.


Photo: fiaf3europe.com

Related Posts