FCNA: Anassis wins season opening race at Daytona

  • Ferrari Challenge North America Daytona

Ferrari Challenge North America Trofeo Pirelli reigning champion Emmanuel Anassis is the winner of the first race this season, while Steve Johnson and Joe Courtney were fastest in Trofeo Pirelli Am and Coppa Shell races.


Anassis’ fine form continues

Driver of Ferrari Quebec was on the top of the starting grid and kept his nerves throughout the whole race, managing to beat Gregory Romanelli (The Collection), the runner-up from last season, and Ricardo Perez (Ferrari of Houston). Romanelli clocked the fastest lap time – 1:49:875, but that wasn’t enough for victory.


Good start for the newcomers

Trofeo Pirelli Am class race was marked with good results achieved by newcomers to the series. Ferrari of Fort Lauderdale driver Steve Johnson started form the third position in his class, but was first at the finish, leaving rookies Caesar Bacarella (Ferrari of Long Island) and Lance Willsey (Ferrari of Central Florida) on second and third respectively.


Easy win for veteran driver in Coppa Shell

Joe Courtney (Miller Motor Cars) had a perfect race and scored the victory without too much effort. Veteran driver was too fast for his old rival Jean-Claude Saada (Boardwalk Ferrari) on second and Rodney Randall (Miller Motor Cars) on third place.


Race 2 on Saturday will precede the 24 Hours at Daytona at 9:45 AM EST.



Related Posts