Felix Rosenqvist takes Formula 3 European Championship title

Swedish driver Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam) is the new FIA Formula 3 European champion. He took the title in a dominant style, with three poles and three victories at the penultimate round of the championship this weekend at Nürburgring. Before the season finale at Hockenheim (16-18 October) he has an advantage of 90,5 points ahead of second placed Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and with 75 points still in the game, the fight for the title is over. This is the third consecutive F3 European title for Prema Powerteam, after Raffaele Marciello was 2013 champion and Esteban Ocon won last year.


Antonio Giovinazzi had the chance to prolong a fight for the title, but it was ruined in the opening lap of the Race 3 at Nürburgring, when he collided with Mikkel Jensen (Mücke Motorsport) and damaged the car. Giovinazzi pitted and fell to the end of the field. Rosenqvist started from pole and remained in the lead until the end. Despite four Safety car interventions and four restarts his position wasn’t under danger. In fact, all positions from first to eight remained unchanged from Lap 1 to the checkered flag.


FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 10, race 1, Nürburgring (GER)


Prema Powerteam’s drivers occupied Top 4 positions, with Lance Stroll second, Nick Cassidy third and Jake Dennis fourth. Charles Leclerc (Van Amersfoort Racing), who is leading rookie championship standings, finished fifth ahead of Markus Pommer (Motopark), Santino Ferrucci (Mücke Motorsport) and Callum Ilott (Carlin). Sergio Sette Camara (Motopark) and George Russell (Carlin) had a great fight for ninth and the Brazilian was more successful at the end.


Audience at Nürburgring had a good chance to get familiar with BMW M4 Coupe Safety car, because it was the leading car in 11 of 21 laps. First time SC was out in Lap 5, when Nicolas Pohler (Double R Racing) stopped on the track. Three more SC interventions followed in Lap 8 when Sam MacLeod (Motopark) and Matthew Rao (Fortec Motorsports) crashed, in Lap 12 after Ryan Tveter (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) attacked and damaged Dorian Boccolacci (Signature) in Turn 1 and finally in Lap 14 when Alessio Lorandi (Van Amersfoort Racing) and Tatiana Calderon (Carlin) crashed in the last turn.


FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 10, race 1, Nürburgring (GER)


Related Posts