Formula 3 Euro: Giovinazzi wins first race at Zandvoort

  • Antonio Giovinazzi

Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) is the winner of the first race of Formula 3 European Championship at Zandvoort in Netherlands.  It was dominant and controlled race by Giovinazzi, who started from pole, and after 23 laps he crossed the finish line 1,1 seconds ahead Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam), who started second. It was Giovinazzi’s fourth win in the 2015 season and he remained in the second place of the championship standings. Markus Pommer (Motopark) gained third place at the podium.


First three positions was the same as at the start. It was race without much excitement and battles for positions were missing, there was no incidents and safety car period – so unusual for Formula 3 races! The biggest loser was Jake Dennis (Prema Powerteam), who was penalised with drive through because of jump start and dropped from 4th to the end of the field. He retired in Lap 15.




Another Prema Powerteam driver Lance Stroll was fourth overall and the best rookie. Championship leader Charles Leclerc (Van Amersfoort Racing) finished fifth and remained at the top of the standings. Other points finishers are George Russell (Carlin), Alexander Albon (Signature), Mikkel Jensen (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport), Nabil Jeffri (Motopark) and Brandon Maisano (Prema Powerteam).


Second race at Zandvoort is scheduled for 15.40 today. Felix Rosenqvist will start first on the grid, with Antonio Giovinazzi next to him.

Related Posts