Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup: Aitken wins at Hungaroring

British driver Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) is the winner of Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup race at Hungaroring today. 19-years old Brit won ahead of the member of the McLaren Young Driver Development Programme and compatriot Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsport) and Swiss Louis Deletraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing).


Earlier today Deletraz claimed his third pole position of the season, ahead of Jack Aitken, Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) and Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team). Starting from pole, Swiss led the entire race, but ceded the win after being penalized with 10 seconds for jumping start. When realized that he will be punished, Louis Deletraz began his own race against the clock to limit the damage. At the end he crossed the finish line with advantage which hold him in the top three and increase his lead in the general classification.


Despite the pressure, Jack Aitken held on second place ahead of Ben Barnicoat, so he takes the win because of Deletraz’s penalty. Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Martin Kodrić (Fortec Motorsports) completed the top five, ahead Jake Hughes (Koiranen) and Harrison Scott (AVF). Anton De Pasquale (Koiranen GP), Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team) and Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing) were the final point scorers.


Related Posts