Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup: Aitken wins at Nürburgring

World Series by Renault weekend at Nürburgring continued with Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup race. Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) scored his third season’s victory and with 25 points, jumped to second place in the championship standings, behind Louis Deletraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing), who finished 6th in today’s race. Aitken won ahead of Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport).


Championship leader Deletraz started from pole but after a slow start he fell to 6th place and he remained there until the end. Aitken jumped from 2nd to 1st at the start, Sasahara jumped from fourth to second and Isaakyan jumped from 7th to 3rd. All three of them stayed in the front during 11 laps. Behind the leading trio Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) managed to overtake Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP) for fourth place.


Other points finishers are Jehan Daruvala (Fortec Motorsports), Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing), Martin Kodrić (Fortec Motorsports) and Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport). The race was interrupted with Safety Car in Lap 3 after an incident at Turn 16, which made Valentin Hasse-Clot (Strakka Racing) to retire.


After 11 races gaps at the top of championship standings are incredibly small, with six points difference between first and fourth. Deletraz is leader with 132 points, second placed Aitken has 128, Kevin Jörg 127 and Jake Hughes 126 points. One more race at Nürburgring is scheduled for tomorrow at 14.35.




Check all the results at SnapLap result pages.


Photos: World Series by Renault

Related Posts