Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup: Jack Aitken is the new champion

Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) clinched his second championship title in seven days. After Formula Renault 2.0 Alps title last weekend today he won Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup. In last race of the season at Jerez Aitken finished only 16th, but his main championship rival Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) was even worst – he finished 24th.  Third candidate Louis Deletraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) had to win to get the title, but he finished 6th.


Winner of the last race was Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsport), who started from pole and didn’t allowed anybody to surprise him. Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) was behind Barnicoat from start to finish, while Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport) scored his third podium this weekend in fight against Deletraz. Deletraz later lost two more positions from Jack Hughes (Koiranen GP) and Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team). Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport), Harrison Scott (AVF), Martin Kodrić (Fortec Motorsports) and Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) rounded Top 10. Young Croatian driver Kodrić showed impressive performance with progress from 20th to 9th.




Jack Aitken had a bad qualifying with 25th lap-time, but all get worst before the race because of technical problems. He started from pits and made a good progress through the field, but it wouldn’t be enough if Kevin Jörg finished at podium. But Jorg was only driver to start with wet tyres and this choice cost him a lot. Tyres were wrong, Jorg lost the pace and finished far behind Aitken.


Delétraz and Jörg lost the driver’s title but at least led Josef Kaufmann Racing to the team title. The best placed newcomer Harrison Scott (AVF) clinched rookie of the year honours.

Related Posts