Green tops Audi's 1-2-3 at Lausitzring

Audi driver Jamie Green won the first race of the second round of the DTM season and took the lead in the overall standings after second victory in the season.


It was another very successful race for Audi as they won remaining places at the podium with Edoardo Mortara second and Mattias Ekstrom third, while Miguel Molina finished fourth confirming the supremacy of the Ingolstadt based manufacturer.




Until the last 10 minutes or so, it looked lke this will be relatively quet race. Miguel Molina had a pole position and he was followed by another three Audi’s driver – Green, Mortara and Ekstrom. They all kept their positions at the start of the race, while Maxime Martin moved up to fifth in front of Robert Wickens.


Augusto Farfus was penalised with five places back after infringement in the qualifying but bad day for the Brazilian driver continued in the race as he had to give up after problems with his BMW. Lucas Auer also had a problem after he was turning 180 degrees on the track. He managed to continue the race, but stayed at the last place, too far from the rest.




The gaps at the top of the grid were very tight and Molina was on the constant pressure by Green, but Spaniard looked very confident and at the middle of the race he was less than one second in front of Green despite the problems with DRS.


Martin tried to stay off Pascal Wehrlein who was best placed Mercedes driver at sixth, followed by Wickens, Timo Scheider and Daniel Juncadella who had big battle with Marco Wittmann. Mike Rockenfeller was just behind them and it looked he will move up to the points zone.




Some eight minutes before the end, Jamie Green finally managed to overtake Molina who obviously started to lose the pace, so Mortara went up to second and Ekstrom to third. Green looked just like he was launched from the slingshot as he quckly get advantage of an almost three seconds.


Fifth in this 40 minutes race was Pascal Wehrlein, sixth was Robert Wickens, while Maxime Martin won seventh place. Remaining points went to Timo Scheider, Mike Rockenfeller and Daniel Juncadella.


Second race at Lausitzring is scheduled for the Sunday afternoon 14.20 CET.

Related Posts