Pole positions for Lopez and Filippi

Jose Maria Lopez won pole position for WTCC race of Qatar at Losail International Circuit, while John Filippi took reverse pole for race 2.


Argentinian ace continued in Q1 where he stopped on Thursday. Double champion was the fastest with a lap time 2:01.421, what was 0.321s better than Mehdi Bennani’s result. Local favorite and Dakar Rally champion Nasser Al-Attiyah failed to qualify for Q2 on his debut in WTCC, while the remaining five drivers out of second qualifying round were Rob Huff, Tom Chilton, Gregoire Demoustier, Gabriele Tarquini and Stefano D’Aste.


In the second qualifying round, Lopez again was uncatchable, this time with a lap time 2:01.415, Hugo Valente was second with a gap of 0.239s, and Nick Catsburg surprised setting third best result, with Sebastien Loeb and Mehdi Bennani completing line-up for Q3. John Filippi in Chevrolet won the reverse pole for the tonights race 2, while others who failed to qualify for the last round were Norbert Michelisz, Ma Qing Hua,, Yvan Muller, Tom Coronel, Tiago Monteiro and Nicolas Lapierre.




Start of the last qualifying round was marked by Bennani’s excellent result 2:01.311 and Moroccan driver was on top until Pechito Lopez went out and completed a lap becoming first to go under 2:01. Sebastien Loeb will start from third place, Hugo Valente is fourth and Nick Catsburg fifth.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!


Photo: fiawtcc.com

Related Posts