Racing Point officially confirmed Lance Stroll for 2019 Formula One season

November 30, 2018
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • Lance Stroll Racing Point Force India
  • Lance Stroll Racing Point Force India test

Nobody was in a doubt but we were still waiting an official confirmation that Lance Stroll will continue his Formula 1 career with the Racing Point F1 Team, a former Force India, the team that his father bought this year. And here it is. The team confirmed today that they agreed a long-term deal with the 20-year-old Canadian who spent the previous two seasons with Williams.

Otmar Szafnauer, Team Principal &ampCEO of Racing Point Force India: “I’m pleased that we can finally confirm Lance’s arrival to race alongside Sergio next year. It gives us an exciting line-up with the perfect blend of youth, talent, and experience. Lance is only twenty and already has two years of Formula One experience under his belt, as well as a podium finish and a front row start. We see huge potential in Lance and believe we can create an environment in which he can flourish. Our team has enjoyed great success nurturing and developing young and talented drivers, and we are very excited to begin our journey with Lance. I would also like to take the opportunity to thank Esteban Ocon for his contribution to the team over the last two seasons and wish him well for the future.”

“This is the beginning of an incredibly exciting journey in my Formula One career. I look forward to working alongside a successful team with a great culture. It’s a new challenge and I am excited to embrace this new opportunity,” Lance Stroll said.

Lance Stroll esteban ocon

Lance Stroll replaces Esteban Ocon in Force India’s line-up

After Stroll’s confirmation, whose teammate would be Sergio Perez, the whole Formula 1 grid for 2019 is set.

The other drivers are Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes), Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc (Ferrari), Max Verstappen and Pierre Gasly (Red Bull), Daniel Ricciardo and Nico Hulkenberg (Renault), Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen (Haas), Carlos Sainz and Lando Norris (McLaren), Daniil Kvyat and Alexander Albon (Toro Rosso), Kimi Raikkonen and Antonio Giovinazzi (Sauber), George Russell and Robert Kubica (Williams).

Related Posts