Three new teams on the FIA Formula 2 Championship grid in 2018

November 16, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • FIA Formula 2 Championship logo
  • FIA Formula 2 Championship grid

The FIA Formula 2 Championship organisers announced that eleven teams have been entered for the 2018 season, with possible twelfth team to be confirmed. Eight of the teams are currently competing in the F2 Championship and they will return in 2018, whilst three new but renown squads will join the grid: Carlin, Fortec Motorsports and Charouz Racing System.

All three new teams have rich experience in numerous top categories. Carlin and Fortec Motorsports are British outfits with many teams’ and drivers’ championships on their accounts. Charouz Racing System is a Czech outfit, created by Antonin Charouz in 1985, with single-seater and sports car racing titles on its account. Of ten teams which participate in 2017 F2 season, Russian Time and Rapax are not on the list for 2018.

Formula 2, Monza

Ten teams participate in 2017 F2 season, eleven are confirmed so far for 2018

Here’s the list of all eleven teams: Arden International (GBR), ART Grand Prix (France), Campos Racing (Spain), Carlin (GBR), Charouz Racing System (Czech Republic), DAMS (France), Fortec Motorsports (GBR), MP Motorsport (Netherlands), Prema Racing (Italy), Racing Engineering (Spain) and Trident (Italy).

“We’re happy to announce our line-up for next season. We have decided to remain loyal to the majority of our existing teams who know the Championship well and are strong assets to nurture young drivers. We are pleased to welcome Carlin, Fortec and Charouz to the grid. They will get their first taste of F2 early 2018 at the new car shakedown which date will be announced in the coming weeks. We have received high quality requests from many teams who wish to join our Championship. Therefore, we keep open the possibility to add a twelfth team to our line-up before the end of this year,” FIA Formula 2 CEO Bruno Michel said.

Photos: Zak Mauger/,

Related Posts