V8 Supercars - Phillip Island: Scott McLaughlin wins after two years!!!

  • Scott McLaughlin wins V8 Supercars Phillip Island SuperSprint race

The New Zealander Scott McLaughlin wins the first race of the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint and becomes the sixth winner in six races of the 2016 V8 Supercars Championship season. It was McLaughlin’s first victory after two years of waiting, as his last victory at Phillip Island was back in 2014.

McLaughlin secured the pole position driving the Garry Rogers Motorsport’s #33 Volvo S60 and he led from start to finish in the 27-lap race at the famous 4.45.km long circuit. After 120 km of racing McLaughlin crossed the finish line with a 1.242s margin over Red Bull Racing’s Jamie Whincup in his #88 Holden VF Commodore.

Fabian Coulthard progressed marvelously from ninth place on the starting grid and took the third podium spot in DJR Team Penske’s Ford FG X Falcon. He managed to do so because Chaz Mostert‘s luck ran out as he got a puncture on the last lap and he dropped out in the order. Mostert limped to the finish as 23rd.

Shane Van Gisbergen (Red Bull Racing, Holden) and Mark Winterbottom (Prodrive Racing, Ford) fought for the fourth place but SVG was more successful, finishing ahead of defending champion. Craig Lowndes (Team Vortex, Holden), James Moffat (GRM, Volvo), Tim Slade (Freightliner Racing, Holden), Garth Tander (Holden Racing Team) and Jason Bright (Team BOC, Holden) completed the top 10.

Check the full results of the first race at the Phillip Island circuit

Photos: v8supercars.com.au,

Related Posts