WTCC: Champion Lopez wins race 1 in Qatar

  • Jose Mari Lopez

Jose Maria Lopez confirmed his supremacy in WTCC after winning race 1 at Losail International Circuit in Qatar.


Lopez kept leading position, Bennani still was behind him, but Valente and Loeb had a great battle for third. But, Nicolas Lapierre was the man of the moment as he moved up to seventh starting from 12th. In a meantime, Nick Catsburg dropped from fifth to 10th place.




On top of the grid nothing interesting had happened, but behind things were bit more interesting as there was few changes. Lapierre dropped to 11th, Catsburg went up to eighth and Tiago Monteiro to 10th position.


Finally, Citroen driver won for the 10th time this season, equaling achievement from previous year. Bennani was second, 7.6s behind champion, what is his best result this year, and after this battle for Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy became even closer. Hugo Valente in Chevrolet RML Cruze was third.


Sebastien Loeb was fourth, while remaining points scored Ma Qing Hua, Yvan Muller, Norbert Michelisz, Tiago Monteiro, Nick Catsburg and Stefano D’Aste.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!