Joey Mawson is the 2016 ADAC Formula 4 Champion!

  • Joey Mawson, 2016 ADAC F4 champion
  • Joey Mawson, ADAC F4 2016 champion

The Australian Joey Mawson is the 2016 ADAC Formula 4 champion! The 20-year-old driver of Van Amersfoort Racing team secures the title with two more races to go, after winning the first race of the season’s finale today at Hockenheimring. It’s his ninth win of the season and after 22 races he collects 349 points, 56 more than second-placed Mick Schumacher (Prema Powerteam).

The son of Michael Schumacher showed a strong performance in the race, progressing from 23rd to sixth place, but it wasn’t enough to keep his championship chances alive. Mike Ortmann (ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg) and Juri Vips (Prema Powerteam) completed the podium. With two more races to go, Mick Schumacher secured the second place in the overall standings, as third-placed Mike Ortmann has 241 points.

Check the full results of ADAC F4 races at Hockenheimring