Green comfortably wins DTM race 2 at Zandvoort

  • Jamie Green Zandvoort

Jamie Green won the DTM race 2 at Zandvoort what is his first victory of 2016. The Audi driver was on the top from the start of the race and absolutely deserved this triumph.

Jamie Green was the fastest in Sunday’s qualifying and started from pole position, followed by two Mercedes’ of Gary Paffett and Christian Vietoris, while another Audi driver Edoardo Mortara started from fourth place. One well-known made a DTM debut at Zandvoort – Rene Rast jumped into the seat of Audi replacing Adrien Tambay who injured his arm in a collision in Saturday’s race.

Gary Paffett Mercedes

Gary Paffett, DTM Mercedes, Zandvoort

Paffett couldn’t go in front of Green after the start but Saturday’s race winner Robert Wickens made an excellent move to go up to the third place while on the lap 3 he was already second after he elegantly passed beside Paffett.

The gaps between top 5 were really tight so we could see very exciting racing. Green and Wickens both did mandatory pit-stop at the same time but Audi driver managed to stay ahead of his rival. Also, Green had an easier task as he was let to go by the other Audi drivers who still had to pit while Wickens had more job to do to stay near Jamie what was probably a decisive factor for the outcome of the race.

Edoardo Mortara

Edoardo Mortara, DTM Audi, Zandvoort

Fifteen minutes before the end Green had a solid advantage of 2.8s but eight minutes later Green was able to calm down. Wickens made an error and slid off the track, so he dropped to the bottom of the grid. Soon after, Vietoris had to pit because of tyre puncture and joined Wickens at the back before retiring in the next lap.

Green routinely brought the race to the end, finishing almost 10 seconds ahead of Gary Paffett while Edoardo Mortara grabbed third place 14.7s behind the winner. Marco Wittmann, Nico Muller, Timo Glock, Mattias Ekstrom, Paul di Resta, Lucas Auer and Tom Blomqvist also scored points in this race.

Check the DTM results from Zandvoort circuit

Marco Wittmann tops overall standings with 105 points, Jamie Green jumped to the second with 98 while Edo Mortara holds third position with 88 points, only five ahead of Christian Vietoris.

The next round of DTM championship will go on August 20-21 in Moscow.


Related Posts