Formula 3: Pure joy for Prema Powerteam after Saturday's races at Zandvoort

  • Lance Stroll

Lance Stroll and Nick Cassidy are the winners of the FIA Formula European Championship Saturday’s races at Zandvoort Circuit.

Prema Powerteam had a lot of reason for happiness after Saturday’s races at Zandvoort. Lance Stroll scored his sixth win of the season and increased his advantage in the championship while Nick Cassidy finished second. Alessio Lorandi of Carlin Motorsport completed the podium finishing third.

Stroll has started from the fourth position but immediately overtook his rivals to take the lead and stayed at the top until the end. Maximilian Gunther, another Prema Powerteam driver, finished at the fourth place while Niko Kari of Motopark took fifth position.

Formula3 Zandvoort

Detail from race 1 at Zandvoort

Van Amersfoort Racing’s Callum Ilott was on pole for the Saturday’s race 2 but quickly dropped to third after Cassidy and Gunther overtook him right after the start. Those standings remained unchanged until the end, so Cassidy scored his first win in 2016. The winner of the opening race Lance Stroll retired in the middle of the race.

Check the full results at out results page!

The start of the FIA Formula 3 Championship race 3 at Zandvoort is on Sunday, 15.30 CET.


Related Posts