WTCC: Bennani and Michelisz triumphant in Portugal

  • Norbert Michelist Honda 2016

Norbert Michelisz and Mehdi Bennani are the winners of the FIA WTCC Race of Portugal at Vila Real street circuit.

Opening race

Mehdi Bennani won the Opening race at Vila Real street circuit after starting from the fourth position on the reverse grid. The Sebastien Loeb Racing driver took the lead just before the end of the first lap and controlled the race until the end.

Tiago Monteiro tried to catch the Moroccan driver, who scored his second win in 2017, but Honda pilot never really challenged the race leader and had to settle for the second, while Thed Bjork in Volvo finished 3rd in the first race of the day.

Mehdi Bennani Citroen 2017

The Citroen driver Mehdi Bennani won the Opening Race in Portugal

Main race

In the Main Race, Honda driver Norbert Michelisz was a pole-sitter, with local hero Monteiro in the 4th starting position. Rob Huff and Thed Bjork separated two Hondas on the starting grid. Unfortunately, Huff stalled on the start and finished the race in the 5th place.

Michelisz led from the start to the finish and scored his first win of the season, beating Bjork by less than 0.5s. Tiago Monteiro completed the podium to keep the lead in the championship standings with a small advantage to Bjork.

Tiago Monteiro WTCC Portugal

After the Race of Portugal, Tiago Monteiro is the new WTCC overall standings leader

Click here for the full results of the WTCC Race of Portugal

The next round will go on 14-16 July at Termas de Rio Hondo, Argentina.


Related Posts