DTM at Norisring: Third win for Rast, Spengler returns to top podium spot

Rene Rast (Audi) and Bruno Spengler (BMW) are the winners of two Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters races at Norisring. Rast climbed to the top podium spot for the third time this season and stayed on the top of the DTM championship standings after eight races. On the other side, Spengler recorded his first win since 2017, exactly two years after his previous victory at Norisring.

Rene Rast is celebrating his third win of the season

On Saturday, Rene Rast had a disastrous start of the race, stalling an engine of his #33 Audi RS5 at the grid and dropping from P3 to the back of the field. After that, a brave strategy and clever use of an early Safety Car intervention brought him to the lead. He won a race ahead of polesitter Nico Muller (Audi) and BMW’s Joel Eriksson. Rast’s margin ahead of the closest rival was 34.4 seconds, what’s the most dominant victory in DTM history at the Norisring.

Behind the leading trio, Loic Duval (Audi) and Bruno Spengler (BMW) completed the top 5. Daniel Juncadella (Aston Martin), who was temporarily running in fourth place, finished sixth, what’s the best result so far for Aston Martin drivers in the inaugural DTM season for the British manufacturer.

Bruno Spengler returned to the top podium spot at Norisring

On Sunday, Rene Rast started from pole but Bruno Spengler took the victory, his first after two years. He previously won exactly two years ago at Norisring.

Spengler shared a podium with two Audi drivers – Jamie Green and Mike Rockenfeller. Robin Frijns and Philipp Eng completed the top 5. Rene Rast finished the race in the seventh place. Dani Juncadella was the best Aston Martin driver again, crossing the finish line in the tenth place.

Bruno Spengler at Norisring

Check the results of DTM races at Norisring

After eight races in 2019, Rene Rast leads the championship with 217 points, 25 more than Audi teammate Nico Muller. The third-placed Philipp Eng is just one point behind Muller.

The next DTM event is scheduled for July 20-21 at TT Circuit Assen.

Photos: Audi, BMW, DTM,

Related Posts