Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park

  • Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park Taupo race 2016 formula

Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, formerly known as Taupo Motorsport Park, is probably the best racing facility in New Zealand.

Opened in 1959, reconstructed in 2006

The circuit has a pretty long history. It was opened in 1959 and for a long time existed as a small track suitable only for club racing. Located in a charming scenery with a volcanic mountain Mount Tauhara as a backdrop, Taupo Motorsport Park was the host of many national motorsport events.

Cars racing at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park Taupo - NZV8 race

NZV8 race at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, Taupo, New Zealand

In 2005, a complete overhaul of the circuit was done. The track was lengthened and when the construction was finished a year later, this circuit became the first venue with the FIA Grade 2 rating in the country. The works on the circuit were completed in the very tight deadline with the cost of around NZ$14 million.

Three layouts of Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park

The International track opened in 2006 is 3.5 km long with 14 turns. The circuit also has three other configurations: National circuit (2.2 km), Club circuit (1.34 km) and also an 830 meters long dragstrip built to meet National Hot Rod Association standards. The track is pretty narrow, a bit bumpy, twisty, and relatively technically demanding.

Map / Track layout of Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park

Map: Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park track layout

There are two separate start/finish locations, allowing simultaneous use of two tracks. Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, which is the official name of the circuit since 2015, has two separate pit areas and 32 garages for the teams. The full circuit has a permanent spectator capacity of 25.000 to 30.000 and the events are regularly well attended.

The motor racing circuit has various licenses ranging from National Grade 1 Motorsport License, FIA Grade 2 Motorsport License and International Motorcycling Safety Standards depending on track configuration.

A1GP races were the main events at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park

After the reconstruction in 2006, the track desperately needed an international promotion. In 2007, A1 Grand Prix series race was held at Taupo Motorsport Park. Nico Hulkenberg set the record lap time – 1:14.072. That event was a huge success, so the series returned to New Zealand in 2008, and the last season of the championship.

A1GP race in New Zealand

A1GP race at Bruce Mclaren Motorsport Park, Taupo

After the loss of A1GP, Taupo has limited its ambitions to the national motorsport scene. New Zealand V8, NZ Formula Ford, V8 SuperTourer, and Toyota Racing Series soon became the main events, together with some minor motorcycling and drifting series.

Except for racing events, Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park is known after its driver training school. The circuit is also opened for new vehicle launches, corporate events, private functions, and weddings, with suites ranging from 20 to more than 600 person capacity, located in the Pit Lane Complex.

Getting there

Taupo Motorsport Park is located near the town of Taupo in Waikato Region on New Zealand’s North Island. Auckland International Airport is around three-hour drive to the north, while the nearest airport is in Rotorua, around 90 minutes from the circuit, and offers good domestic connections.

Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park panorama

Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park in Taupo nowadays hosts mostly domestic championships

Address: 463 Broadlands Rd, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Phone: +64 7 376 5033

Video – Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park Taupo