Louis Deletraz wins the inaugural race of the Formula V8 3.5

  • Formula V8 3.5 Aragon race 1, Louis Deletraz, Fortec Motorsports

Louis Deletraz (Fortec Motorsports) wins the inaugural race of the Formula V8 3.5 championship at Motorland Aragon. The Swiss driver triumphed ahead of Matthieu Vaxiviere (SMP Racing) and Tom Dillmann (AV Formula) in the 23-lap race at the 5.345-km long circuit.

The first round of the Formula V8 3.5 is taking part together with the Renault Sport Series, although Formula 3.5 parted ways with Renault as a naming sponsor. The Formula V8 3.5 continues on its own, with lots of drivers from previous FR 3.5 series and other Renault-backed competitions. There were 15 drivers on the grid of the first race.

Formula V8 3.5 Aragon

Formula V8 3.5 started the the seasonwith 15 drivers on the grid

Egor Orudzhev (Arden Motorsport) secured the pole position and took the lead at the start, but he made a mistake during the opening lap and damaged the car in a short off-road trip. Louis Deletraz, who was behind Orudzhev, took the present and remained in the lead until the end of the race. Matthieu Vaxiviere progressed from tenth place on the grid to second place in the opening lap, but after that he had no chance to overtake the leader.

Alfonso Celis Jr was in third place for most of the race but he dropped to sixth few laps before the chequered flag. Tom Dillmann took the last podium spot, ahead of Rene Binder (Lotus) and Aurelien Panis (Arden Motorsport).

Check the full results of the Formula V8 3.5 at Motorland Aragon

Photos: formulav8.com

Related Posts