NASCAR Sprint All-Star race: A million dollar Logano

  • Joey Logano, NASCAR Sprint All Star race

Team Penske’s Joey Logano wins the 32nd annual NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway. It is Logano first victory in sixth attempt and he was awarded with the $1 million dollar prize.

Logano’s teammate Brad Keselowski finished second because Kyle Larson, who fought for the win against Logano, had spun and ended up in the wall, to finish 16th in the order. Behind Penske’s Fords Dale Earnhardt Jr. took third lace in the Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet, Carl Edwards (Joe Gibbs Racing) finished fourth and Kurt Busch (Stewart-Haas Racing) completed the top 5.

Joey Logano, NASCAR Sprint All-Star race

Joey Logano’s #22 Ford

The 20-car field race was, as usual, divided to three segments, two 50-laps segments and last one with 13 laps. Carl Edwards topped the leaderboard after the first segment, ahead of Brad Keselowski. Kevin Harvick was a leader for segment-high 22 laps. The only caution was out with five laps to go when Jamie McMurray spun in Turn 2.

Kyle Larson was the leader after the second segment. Brad Keselowski was second again, ahead of Joey Logano. A caution on Lap 64 was thrown for a weeper on the track. Shortly after the restart Chase Elliott caused the multi-car after he surprisingly slowed down to pit. The victims were Tony Stewart, Matt Kenseth and Kasey Kahne. They missed the final 13-lap shootouti in which Logano cruised to the victory after Larson kissed the wall.

Video: Recap of the race

Check the full results of NASCAR Sprint All Star race


Related Posts