Renault Sport Trophy: Schiller and Korjus on the top podium spot

  • 2016 Renault Sport Trophy Aragon, start of the race

Fabian Schiller (Team Marc VDS) and Kevin Korjus (R-ace GP) are the winners of two Sunday’s sprint races of the Renault Sport Trophy at the Motorland Aragon. Schiller triumphed in the Am-drivers competition while Korjus won ahead of 13 other drivers in the Pro category.

The 18-year old German driver scored his second victory in two days. After he showed his potential in the Saturday’s endurance race, when he was sharing the car with Markus Palttala, Schiller was again dominant driver in the field and he led from start to finish. It was a double victory for Team Marc VDS EG 0,o because Fran Rueda crossed the finish line in the second place, 1.243 seconds behind Schiller.

An experienced Miguel Ramos (Equipe Verschuur) progressed from sixth on the starting grid to third at the finish line. Fredrik Blomstedt was on third in the opening laps but the puncture on Lap 5 forced him to the unscheduled pit stop and he felt to 11th place.

Renault Sport Trophy, Lewis Williamson

Lewis Williamson started from pole and finished secind in the Pro category sprint race

In the Pro category race the most of the action we saw in the opening lap. Lewis Williamson (Strakka Racing) didn’t defend his first starting position and Kevin Korjus came in front. Markus Palttala jumped from fifth to third and stayed there until the end. The biggest progress was made by Roy Geerts (Equipe Verschuur), who started 11th and reached the fourth place in the opening lap.

The last year’s Prestige class champion Dario Capitanio was the main victim of the opening-lap contacts. He retired with damaged car, same as Raoul Owens (R-ace GP). Anders Fjordbach and Bruno Bonifacio also suffered from punctures but rejoind the race and finished a lap behind the winner.

Here’s the results of the Renault Sport Trophy at Aragon

Photos: Renault Sport

Related Posts