Saudi Arabia will host the 2018 Race of Champions

November 22, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • Race of Champions
  • Race of Champions
  • Race of Champions

The next edition of the Race of Champions (ROC) will take place in Saudi Arabia, at Riyadh’s King Fahd International Stadium on February 2-3, 2018. The event will be run in partnership with the General Sports Authority of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

It’s the first time that Race of Champion is coming to the Middle East. Competitors will be, as always, from all over the world, including the winner of the 2017 Race of Champions Juan Pablo Montoya.

Some other big names are already confirmed for the ROC Riyadh event, such are nine-time Le Mans 24h winner Tom Kristensen, former F1 driver David Coulthard, former rally and rallycross champion Petter Solberg, young British sensation and F3 European champion Lando Norris, reigning IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden or IndyCar veterans Helio Castroneves and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

As usual, the Race Of Champions event will have two-day programme. First comes the ROC Nations Cup on Friday February 2, and then the next day it’s time for the Race Of Champions itself, when all contestant are fighting for individual glory.

The previous ROC event was held at Miami's Marlin Park

The previous ROC event was held at Miami’s Marlins Park

ROC President Fredrik Johnsson said: “We are thrilled to be bringing such a stunning line-up of drivers to Riyadh for ROC’s first event in the Middle East in February. From last year’s finalists Juan Pablo Montoya and Tom Kristensen through to our youngest debutant Lando Norris plus stars of everything from Rally X to the Indy 500, we bring the greats of all the world’s great motorsport disciplines together and set them free to battle – all in identical cars.

Rest assured we will put together a truly memorable event for fans of fast cars and even faster drivers. Now we look forward to welcoming a packed crowd to enjoy this festival of non-stop action and excitement as we bid to find an answer to the eternal question: ‘Who’s the fastest of them all?’”


Related Posts