Buhk and Baumann are the new Blancpain GT Series champions, Ide wins Sprint Cup

  • Maximilian Buhk and Dominik Baumann

Maximilian Buhk and Dominik Baumann are the new Blancpain GT Series’ champions while Sprint Cup trophy goes to the hands of Enzo Ide.

Enzo Ide and Robin Frijns were the fastest in the qualifying race at Catalunya Circuit what was an excellent overture for the Belgian driver Ide who entered the last round as the leader of Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup. The drivers of Belgian Audi Club Team’s car #33 had a relatively easy job, mainly thanks to the Frijns’ excellent start of the race, so Ide after the driver change had only to be calm.

Blancpain GT Series

Detail from the race in Barcelona

Behind the Audi duo, the other title contenders had a far from the trouble-free race after many of them got a drive-through penalty. Only Maximilian Buhk and Dominik Baumann in HTP Motorsport’s Mercedes-AMG managed to pick a point, finishing 6th.

The #63 GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini of Mirko Bortolotti and Nicolas Pohler finished second in the qualifying race while the #88 AKKA-ASP’s Mercedes-AMG of Felix Rosenqvist and Tristan Vautier completed the podium.

In the main race Ide, with a Frijns’ help, secured his first Sprint Cup title finishing 3rd. Felix Rosenqvist and Tristan Vautier in AKKA-ASP’s Mercedes won the race, leaving Team M-Sport’s Bentley drivers Andy Soucek and Maxime Soulet well behind on the 2nd.

Enzo Ide

Enzo Ide celebrates his title

Finally, the overall Blancpain GT Series title goes to Maxi Buhk and Dominik Baumann as they finished 8th, five places ahead of Garage 59’s Rob Bell who finished the season 10 points behind the champions, but the Brit has Endurance Cup title as a consolation.

The Belgian Audi Club Team WRT managed to defend its Teams’ championship title, beating HTP Motorsport by 7 points.

Check full results of Blancpain GT Series last round

Photo: blancpain-gt-series.com

Related Posts