Blancpain GT Sprint Cup: Victory and title for Frijns and Leonard

  • Robin Frijns and Stuart Leonard, #17 Audi R8 LMS
  • Robin Frijns and Stuart Leonard, #17 Audi R8 LMS

Team WRT’s Robin Frijns and Stuart Leonard are the 2017 Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup champions! A duo in the #17 Audi R8 LMS won the last race of the season today at Nurburgring to secure enough points for the championship title ahead of temmates Will Stevens and Markus Winkelhock, who finished second today and second in the championship in the #2 Audi.

Ezequiel Perez Companc and Andrea Caldarelli, who was second in the Qualifying Race yesterday in the #19 GRT Lamborghini Huracan GT3, finished third in today’s Main Race.

Frijns and Leonard captured a title after some of the main rivals dropped out from the championship fight because of the various reasons. Dries Vanthoor/Marcel Fassler h(#5 Audi R8 LMS) ad to serve drive-through penatly because of pitstop infringement while Maxi Buhk/Franck Perera (#84 Mercedes) had to retired after an accident on lap 19.

Check the results of Blancpain Sprint Cup races at Nürburgring


Related Posts