Thed Björk is 2017 WTCC champion, Volvo takes manufacturers' title

  • Thed Bjork, 2017 WTCC champion
  • Thed Bjork, 2017 WTCC champion
  • Polestar Cyan Racing in action at Losail

Thed Björk (Polestar Cyan Racing) is the 2017 FIA World Touring Car Champion! The driver of the #62 Volvo S60 Polestar TC1 defended his championship lead in the season’s finale at Losail International Circut in Qatar, beating Honda’s driver Norbert Michelisz. Björk was better than Michelisz in both Qatari races, also securing a Manufacturers’ title for Volvo Polestar, together with Nick Catsburg and Yvan Muller.

The race winners at Losail are Tom Chilton in the Opening Race and Esteban Guerrieri in the Main Race.

Third season’s win for Tom Chilton

Tom Chilton (Sebastien Loeb Racing) scored his third win of the season in the Opening Race at Losail, after starting fifth on the reversed grid in the #3 Citroen C-Elysee. Chilton has won the race ahead of his teammate Mehdi Bennani. Kevin Gleason (RC Motorsport, Lada Vesta) started from pole position and finished third, what was his first podiums this season but also the first ever WTCC podium in a career.

Thed Björk finished fifth in the Opening Race, increasing his lead ahead of Norbert Michelisz to 16.5 points. After having technical problems in Qualifications, Michelisz started from P11 and finished ninth.

Guerrieri converted pole position into his third win

In the Main race, Esteban Guerrieri (Honda Racing Team JAS) started from pole in the #86 Honda Civic WTCC and convert it to his third win od the season. Rob Huff finished second in Münnich Motorsport’s Citroen C-Elysee, ahead of Nick Catsburg.

For most of the race, Catsburg was behind his teammate Thed Björk, who ended a race in the fourth place. Norbert Michelisz progressed for three spots, from P11 to P8, ending a season as the vice-champion.

Tom Chilton finished fifth in the Main Race, capturing points for the third place overall in the championship and the Independents’ title.

Check the full results of the FIA WTCC races at Losail

Check the final standings of the 2017 FIA WTCC season


Photos: Flamand/DPPI,

Related Posts