Exciting new tracks in the 2018 World Rallycross Championship calendar

October 24, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • FIA World Rallycross Championship
  • FIA World Rallycross Championship
  • FIA World Rallycross Championship

The calendar for the 2018 season of the FIA World Rallycross Championship has been revealed today. Twelve events are on the list, same as in the 2017 season, but with two great changes. Two Grand Prix tracks are included, the iconic Silverstone in the UK and the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

Two venues are out of calendar – the British Lydden Hill and Germany’s Hockenheim. Silverstone’s round comes as a replacement for Lydden Hill while COTA is included as the second North American event, together with Canadian Trois-Rivieres.

FIA World Rallycross Championship, Barcelona RX

Barcelona RX will be again the season-opening event

Same as in 2017, the 2018 season will begin with Spanish event at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. The season’s finale will again take part in South Africa.

The FIA European Rallycross Championship will again run at five World RX rounds as it did in 2017, but with Belgium joining the series in place of Norway. Barcelona, Sweden France and Latvia also feature.  The Super1600 Championship will comprise six rounds (Barcelona, Portugal, Norway, France, Latvia and Germany) while the TouringCar series will be made up of three events (Belgium, Norway and Sweden). The 2018 RX2 calendar will be released at a later date.

2018 WRX calendar

2018 World RX calendar

RoundDateCountry Track
1April 14-15SpainBarcelona
2April 28-29Portugal Montalegre
3May 12-13Belgium Mettet
4May 26-27Great BritainSilverstone
5June 9-10NorwayHell
6June 30-July 1SwedenHoljes
7August 4-5CanadaTrois-Rivieres
8September 1-2FranceLoheac
9September 15-16LatviaBikernieki Riga
10September 29-30USACOTA
11October 13-14Germany Estering
12November 24-25South AfricaKillarney Cape Town

Photos: fiaworldrallycross.com,

Related Posts