ADAC F4 Championship: Double pole for Marvin Dienst at Sachsenring

ADAC Formula 4 Championship continues this weekend at Sachsenring. Championship leader Marvin Dienst (HTP Junior Team) was the fastest in today’s qualifying session and secured pole positions for both tomorrow’s races. Other two title contenders, second placed Joel Eriksson (Motopark) and third placed Joey Mawson (Van Amersfoort Racing), took second and third place at the starting grid of both races.


As always before, due to the high number of entrants qualifying was held in two groups. The starting grid for the first race is determined by the fastest lap times in qualifying. The driver with the fastest time outright starts from pole position. The fastest driver from the other group is allocated second place on the grid. The remaining cars then line up behind the two fastest drivers according to their respective qualifying positions in their groups.




Qualifying in Group A was marked by stoppages. Three red flags gave the young talents little opportunity to achieve a fast lap. An exciting hunt to beat the clock developed in the closing minutes on a drying track. Following the resumption of qualifying two minutes before the end, drivers had time for just one shot at taking pole position. Joel Eriksson won through by a slender margin against Tim Zimmermann (Neuhauser Racing). Eriksson set the fastest laptime 1:33.605 minutes, just 0.002 seconds faster than Zimmermann.


Local driver Kim-Luis Schramm (Neuhauser Racing) was third. Marek Böckmann (Jenzer Motorsport) improved on his final lap to take fourth place from Janneau Esmeijer (HTP Junior Team) and Mick Schumacher (Van Amersfoort Racing). The son of Michael Schumacher was the best-placed rookie in Group A and will start the first race from twelfth place.





Improvements in track conditions then enabled the drivers in Group B to beat the times of the group that had opened the session. Marvin Dienst went into an early lead. The 18-year-old posted two consecutive best times of anyone following a temporary break, substantiating his claim to the pole position. Dienst improved yet again at the fall of the chequered flag and posted his best lap time of 1:31.838 minutes. He was the only one of all the drivers to crack 1:32.


Joey Mawson in second place had a deficit of 0.637 seconds and will start from P3 on the grid. A battle between David Beckmann (Mücke Motorsport) and Jason Kremer (Team Timo Scheider) for third place in Group B finished with better lap time for Beckmann, so he took fifth position on the grid in the first race tomorrow.


The starting grid for the second race is determined by the second-best lap times posted in the session. Marvin Dienst was the fastest again. He posted a 1:32.096 on his second best lap in Group B, winning the battle against Joel Eriksson in the other group of drivers, Group A. The Motopark driver secured his best lap time of 1:33.952 minutes in tough track conditions. Joey Mawson and Kim-Luis Schramm share the second row. A second driver fielded by Neuhauser Racing, Tim Zimmermann finished in the Top Six behind David Beckmann. Jason Kremer and Robert Shwartzman head up the fourth row. The two Van Amersfoort Racing drivers, Harrison Newey and Mick Schumacher will be in P9 and P10 respectively on the grid.


The Top Ten from the first race start the third race (Sunday 16.15) in reverse order. So the race winner goes to P10 on the grid and the tenth-placed driver occupies pole position for the third race. The cars that finished from eleventh place downwards in Race 1 line up in the same positions in the final race.



Related Posts