Few changes to e-Licence system

July 14, 2015
Alexander S

  • FIA Formula E

The FIA World Motor Sport Council approved some changes to the e-Licence system during a meeting in Mexico City.

If any driver wants to participate in an FIA Formula E championship event, he must now have an e-Licence. In order to qualify for an e-licence, every driver has to fulfil the following requirements:


– A specific FIA training session regarding the most important points of the electrical safety, technical and sporting aspects of the competition


– To have accumulated at least 20 points in the previous three years in the FIA points system used to qualify to the Formula 1 Super Licence, or to have previously been holding Formula 1 Super Licence or to have participated in at least three Formula E races of the previous FIA Formula E Championship.


– A driver judged by the FIA to have consistently demonstrated outstanding ability in single-seater formula cars, but with no opportunity to qualify under any of the requirements above.


– The champion from the previous season will automatically qualify for the F1 Super Licence point system the following year.

Related Posts