Formula E championship lead for Da Costa

  • Antonio Felix Da Costa Marrakesh E-Prix
  • Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT), DS Techeetah, Marrakesh

Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah) is the winner of the Marrakesh E-Prix, the fifth round of the 2019-2020 Formula E Championship. The victory for the Portuguese driver came after two consecutive podiums in two previous races. It’s his only third Formula E victory in a career, in which he spent five seasons in the electric single-seater championship and now.

For the sixth season, he joined the championship-winning team DS Techeetah, giving the team the first victory this season. The success was even bigger for DS Techeetah because defending champion Jean-Eric Vergne finished third, giving the valuable points to the team which is now on the top of the championship standings.

Among the drivers, Da Costa is a new leader as the previous leader Mitch Evans (Jaguar) finished just sixth in Marrakesh.

Marrakesh E-Prix podium

Marrakesh E-Prix podium

The third man on a podium in Morocco was BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Max Guenther, putting his team to P2 in the championship, together with the teammate Alexander Sims, who didn’t finish the race in Marrakesh.

The other point scorers are Sebastien Buemi (4th,  Nissan e.dams), Edoardo Mortara (5th, Venturi), Mitch Evans (6th, Jaguar), Lucas di Grassi (7th, Audi), Andre Lotterer (8th, Porsche), Oliver Rowland (9th, Nissan e.dams) and Sam Bird (10th, Virgin Racing).

Following cancellation of the Sanya E-Prix, Formula E is now moving to Europe with two races in April, first in Rome on April 4 and then in Paris on April 18.

Check the full results of the Marrakesh E-Prix

Photos: Formula E,

Related Posts