Formula 3 Euro: One more win for Jake Dennis at Spa

Jake Dennis (Prema Powerteam) wins Race 3 of Formula  European Championship today at Spa-Francorchamps. It was Jake’s second win this weekend and fourth win in 2015 season. Charles Leclerc (Van Amersfoort Racing), winner of the yesterday’s first race, was second in Race 3 and he holds the lead in the championship standings. Final podium spot is captured by George Russell (Carlin).


Jake Dennis started from pole position but lost the lead immediately at the start. Mikkel Jensen (Mucke Motorsport) jumped in front of Dennis and was leading until Lap 4. After slight contact of two leading cars Jensen crashed into the wall and retired.


FIA Formula 3 European Championship, round 5, race 2, Spa-Francorchamps (BEL)


In Lap 5 lead was suprisingly taken by Tatiana Calderon, who started from 28th position. Colombian girl in Carlin’s car took the advantage of wet tires on wet track, but not for a long. He was in the lead for three laps, fighting with Jake Dennis, but as track was drying Tatiana can’t hold any more. In Lap 8 Dennis retook the lead and was leading until the chequered flag, with Charles Leclerc behind him.


There was lots of fights, overtakings and spins behind two leading cars. Markus Pommer (Motopark) and Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam) touched few times. Pommer first get drive through penalty and than was black flagged. Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) was on third, but marschalls decided that he must go to the pits because of damaged front wing, so Italian dropped to 15th.


After all that chaotic changes luckiest was George Russell who took the third place, ahead team-mate Callum Ilott. Fifth was Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam). Other point scorers are Brandon Maisano (Prema), Alessio Lorandi (Van Amersfoort), Maximilian Gunther (Mucke), Alex Albon (Signature) and Pietro Fittipaldi (Fortec). Tatiana Calderon changed tyres to slicks and finished 18th.




Championship standings after 15 of 33 races: 1. Charles Leclerc 217,5 points, 2. Jake Dennis 189, 3. Felix Rosenqvist 188, 4. Antonio Giovinazzi 184, 5. George Russell 91, 6. Maximilian Gunther 74,5, 7. Alexander Albon 67, 8. Mikkel Jensen 59, 9. Lance Stroll 52, 10. Santino Ferruci and Brandon Maisano 50…


Next event of FIA Formula 3 European Championship is scheduled for next weekend at Norisring in Germany.

Related Posts